Holding a cellphone while driving will become a thing of the past in Indiana as of July 1, 2020, under Indiana House Bill 1070.
The hands-free law will go into effect on July 1 in an effort to protect potential victims of drivers distracted by their cellphones.
“People are on their iPads, they are watching YouTube videos – you cant concentrate on what’s around you when you’re looking at that screen,” said State Representative Jim Pressel, a co-author of Indiana House Bill 1070.
Any time you have a phone or other device in your hand while your vehicle is running, you will be breaking the law, even if you’re just holding your phone to make a call.
Texting at a stoplight would also be prohibited under the hands-free law.
It will be legal for drivers to use phones if they’re mounted on a vehicle’s dashboard or in hands-free mode. It will also be legal for drivers to hold a phone should they need to call 911 in case of an emergency.
Those who break the law could be faced with a Class C infraction. If fined, you could pay anywhere from $25 up to $500 – the maximum fine for a Class C infraction.
Lawmakers hope the hands-free law will cause fewer crashes.
Indiana House Bill 1070 was signed by Governor Eric Holcomb and can be viewed in full by clicking here.
View More: Indiana Headlines